Ralph Lauren introduces the Black Safari Flying Tourbillon.

For 2014, Ralph Lauren revisits his distinctive passion for adventurous design and exceptional handcraftsmanship with a new Safari timepiece that features one of watchmaking’s most prestigious complications, the Flying Tourbillon.

Reflecting the utmost in micro-mechanical achievement, the Ralph Lauren Black Safari Flying Tourbillon exemplifies the brand’s superb marriage of high-precision timekeeping and masculine sporting elegance. Long a symbol of watchmaking excellence and first introduced in the Ralph Lauren Timepiece collections through his RL67 Tourbillon, the Black Safari flying tourbillon is revealed through an aperture at 6 o’clock and supported only at the bottom of the cage, appearing as if suspended due to its meticulously cantilevered construction.

Housed within a 45mm shot-blasted black stainless steel case, and operating at a frequency of 28,800vph, the exclusive RL167 self-winding caliber reduces the effects of gravity to achieve absolute precision. Through the sapphire-crystal case back, the 28- jewel RL167 caliber may be admired for its off-centered gold-plated micro-rotor and exquisite decoration in vertical Côtes de Genève.

The Ralph Lauren Black Safari Flying Tourbillon features richly toned elm burlwood at the outer dial. Two luminescent sword-shaped hands orbit the central time display. The matte-black of the inner dial and the timepiece’s luxe black alligator strap provide a beautiful contrast in texture and color.

The Ralph Lauren Safari collection, with its distinctive interpretations of sport and luxury, draws on a unique combination of innovative materials and cutting-edge calibers to transport its wearers to Ralph Lauren’s most exhilarating worlds. Marking the new year with a mastery of vintage-inspired elegance and modern mechanical sophistication, the Black Safari Flying Tourbillon solidifies Ralph Lauren’s place in the world of grand complication haute horology.

Collections About RL Watches Boutiques
US
Jim Kloiber
+1 212 488 1085
jkloiber@gckpartners.com
UK
James Massey
+44 20 7637 3220
James.Massey@massey.co.uk
FRANCE
Isabelle Pouillat
+33 1 43 06 9865
I.Pouillat@bmrp.fr
ITALY
Marcella Magliola
+39 02 7733 6267
Marcella.Magliola@mslgroup.com
MIDDLE EAST
Helen Croft
+971 4 455 6000
Helen.Croft@havasprme.com
JAPAN
Yuka Kato
+81 80 6768 4343
Yklandry@branding-y.com
CHINA
Kathleen Xu
+86 21 3253 2650
kxu@poemcommunications.com
HONG KONG
Veronica Chiao
+852 34 96 99
vchiao@poemcommunications.com
HEADQUARTERS
+41 22 595 5900
Press.RLWJ@poloralphlauren.com